The WEC 2017 North Sea Conference

Programme 24 January 2017 

Moderator: Jan Douwe Kroeske

12.30 hrs Coffee and registration
13.00 hrs Opening speech by Jeroen van Hoof, Chair World Energy Council The Netherlands
13.15 hrs Keynote Christopher Jones, Deputy Director General of DG ENER of the European Commission
13.30 hrs Keynote Dr.-Ing. Leonhard Birnbaum, Member of the Board of Management of E.ON, Chairman World Energy Council Europe
13.50 hrs Keynote: Dieter Helm, Professor of Energy Policy and Official Fellow in Economics, New College, Oxford
14.05 hrs Short break
14.15 hrs Breakout sessions on value pools

Round 1
Decommissioning optimisation – Berend Scheffers, Director Technology at EBN & Eric Kreft, EBN

Efficient Wind Energy – Hans Cleijne, Principal Consultant Wind Energy at DNV GL & Thomas Donders, Tennet,

Round 2
Re-use of Oil and Gas Assets – Ewald Breunesse, Manager Energy Transitions Shell Nederland B.V. and Rene Peters, Director Gas Technology at TNO Energy

Maritime synergies and spatial planning – Leo de Vrees, Chair Support Group on Maritime spatial planning and environmental impacts of the North Sea Political Declaration on energy cooperation &  Peter Reffeltrath, Senior Manager International Sustainable Policies at ECN (Energy research Centre of the Netherlands)

15.45 hrs Coffee break
16.15 hrs Panel discussion with:

  • Benard Fortuyn, Member of the Management Board at Siemens NV 
  • Ditlev Engel CEO DNV GL Energy
  • Dr. Leonhard Birnbaum, Member of the Board of Management of E.ON,
  • Jan Willem van Hoogstraten, CEO EBN B.V
  • Marjan van Loon, President Director Shell Netherlands
  • Jan Willem Velthuijsen, Chief Economist PwC
17.15 hrs Closing, Jeroen van Hoof, Chair World Energy Council the Netherlands
17.30 hrs Network Drinks